Vers le haut

Flame departs for the European Games Opening Ceremony

(12/06/2015) The Baku 2015 Flame today left the Maiden Tower for the final time before the Opening Ceremony of the first European Games, which will take place tomorrow.

The day began with Simon Clegg, Chief Operating Officer of Baku 2015, carrying the torch to the Baku 2015 headquarters in front of BEGOC staff.

Torchbearers including Natiq Şirinov, Murad Dadashov and Çingiz İsmayılov then led the flame from the Old City along the Bulvar, passing the Carpet Museum, the Baku Business Centre, and Park Bulvar before arriving at Satko Pier, from where it departed the city.

The flame will make its final appearance as part of the Opening Ceremony tomorrow evening, when it will light the Baku 2015 Cauldron, which will stay alight throughout the European Games.

Mr Azad Rahimov, Azerbaijan’s Minister of Youth and Sports and Chief Executive Officer of Baku 2015, said: “Our intention has been to inspire and involve members of the public across Azerbaijan through the Journey of the Flame. We have also been able to showcase this great country’s natural beauty and the passion and enthusiasm of its people. I am delighted to say that the response from the public has been everything we hoped for and more – all of Azerbaijan has come together to celebrate the first European Games.

“I now look forward to a spectacular Opening Ceremony tomorrow night, and the great sporting competitions to follow.”

The Baku 2015 Flame was captured at the sacred Ateshgah temple on 26 April, and since then has travelled the length and breadth of Azerbaijan, spreading the message of the European Games and involving the whole population in anticipation of the inaugural event. The Journey of the Flame has visited 60 regions of the country including Baku, passing within one hour of 99% of the country’s population and seen by almost a million people.

Portrait de


EURO 2020
Groupe B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbie, Lituanie, Luxembourg


BGL-LIGUE, 21ème journée
RFCUL – Strassen  4:1
Niederkorn – F91    0:2
Rumelange – Mondorf    1:3
Rosport – Déifferdeng03    0:1
Hostert – Hamm Benfica    1:0
Jeunesse – Pétange    1:1
Etzella – Fola    2:2

La Flèche Wallonne
La Flèche Wallonne Femmes
Liège-Bastogne-Liège Femmes

Tour de France 2019:
La sélection des équipes

C'est avec une énorme tristesse que nous apprenons la mort de S.A.R. le Grand-Duc Jea...
Mardi, avril 23, 2019 - 09:15
Le Belge Victor Campenaerts a établi mardi 16 avril 2019 sur le Velodromo Bicentenari...
Mardi, avril 16, 2019 - 20:49
(03/04/2019 7 Déjà vainqueur du GP de Denain il y a dix jo...
Mercredi, avril 3, 2019 - 18:49
(03/04/2019 - vdl - Ce mercredi 3 avril 2019, Madame Lydie Polfer, bo...
Mardi, avril 2, 2019 - 21:03

Gala 2017 Les Photos

Galerie Photos Awards Night 2017

Photos Charles Caratini




Espace Membres