(14-03-2016 / Press Ciclismo RCS Sport) Cepagatti, 14 March 2016 – The Belgian rider Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) won stage 6 of Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport (210km from Castelraimondo to Cepagatti). Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) finished second and third respectively.

With this victory, the Belgian rider also becomes the new race General Classification leader, wearing the Maglia Azzurra.

1 – Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) – 210km in 4h 34’ 14”, average speed 45.946km/h
2 – Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) s.t.
3 – Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) at 2″


Maglia Azzurra (blue), general classification leader, sponsored by NamedSport – Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team)
Maglia Rossa (red), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Bora – Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)
Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by CSM – Cesare Benedetti (Bora – Argon 18)
Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Selle Italia – Bob Jungels (Etixx – Quick Step)

1 – Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team)
2 – Zdenek Stybar (Etixx – Quick Step) at 7″
3 – Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) at 8″

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the winner and new Maglia Azzurra said: “It happened in a strange way. Tinkoff went for the time bonus when we first crossed the finishing line. It was a hard circuit after that and we kept going. Etixx – Quick Step and Tinkoff rode strongly. I tried to save as much energy as possible. At the end I was up there for sprinting against Peter Sagan. I’m in good form. Since I won today, I’ll go for GC tomorrow even though we were riding for Tejay van Garderen. Time trialling isn’t my forte but the opportunity is there so I’ll give it all”.

Article précédentZdenek Stybar wins stage 2 of Tirreno-Adriatico Namedsport
Article suivantGreg Van Avermaet wins the race of the two seas by just one second over World Champion Peter Sagan