(23-01-2016 / · Prensa / Press Tour de San Luis) The Argentinian rider claims victory ahead of Dani Díaz and Emiliano Ibarra after a long breakaway.  “I knew that I was faster than Dani Díaz and I waited for the sprint” said the stage winner.

Germán Tivani (Argentinian National Team) won Tour de San Luis stage 5 ahead of Dani Díaz (Delko-Marseille) and Emiliano Ibarra (S.E.P. San Juan). The Argentinian sprinted to claim victory ahead of his two fellow countrymen after a long breakaway.

The break of the day formed with the three Argentinians and Ramiro Cabrera (Uruguay National Team) opened a maximum lead of 5’30”. The sprinters teams began to work to catch the escapees. The breakaway had an advantage of 2’50” with 30 km to go when many riders were involved in a large crash in the peloton.

“I was in third position on the front of the peloton and Adriano Malori was just behind me,” said Fran Ventoso. “Malori fell and at least 40 riders were involved in the crash. All my teammates were affected except Dayer Quintana and me,” explained the Movistar rider. Italian Malori was taken to hospital immediately.

Some of the stars of the 2016 Tour de San Luis such as Nairo Quintana, Rodrigo Contreras, Fernando Gaviria and race leader Eduardo Sepúlveda were caught up in the crash. “I am fine and I hope to keep calm tomorrow in the final climb at Comechingones. I expect the Argentinian riders to help me,” underlined Sepúlveda. Among the men who are fighting for the overall classification, only Dani Moreno lost time due to the crash.

Ramiro Cabrera dropped out of a front group which increased the gap km after km as the peloton decided to slow down due to the fall. Last Tour de San Luis winner Dani Díaz attacked, but Tivani, the fastest man among the escapees, reacted. The Argentinian National Team rider waited for the final metres to secure the most important victory in his life. “I knew that I was faster than Dani and I waited for the sprint. I felt really well,” said Tivani.

Josu Garai, Andrea Agostini, Andrés García-Armero


For further information: www.toursanluis.com

Article précédentEduardo Sepúlveda wins atop El Amago and takes leader’s jersey
Article suivant‘Superman’ López wins Tour de San Luis Queen Stage as Dayer takes leader’s jersey